The iconic fun house face of Asbury Park originally named for George C. Tilyou (1862-1914) of Coney Island’s Steeplechase fame. Asbury Park’s Tillie was painted on the Palace Amusements in 1955. The building fell into disrepair in the 1980s and demolished in 2004. The Tillie mural was saved and stored. A new version of Tillie lives on at the Wonder Bar.
Tillie + Pride celebrates the history of the LGBTQ+ community in Asbury Park, not only as a haven for diversity but an integral part of our city's renewal.
We love the innovation of sublimating the image on wood, allowing the grains and the slight imperfections of the wood to show through. This product was assembled here in Asbury Park, NJ.